domingo, 19 de diciembre de 2010

Absorption: large intestine

Once food has passed through the small intestine, it is mostly undigestible material and water. It enters the colon (large intestine), named for its wide diameter. The large intestine has three parts: the cecum, the colon ( ascending colon, transverse colon and descending colon) and rectum. The large intestine is about 1.5 metres
The large pouch-shaped cecum marks the beginning of the colon. Attached near the cecum bottom is the vermiform (worm-like) appendix. The appendix contains lymphoid tissue and intercepts pathogenic microorganisms that enter the digestive tract. Sometimes, fecal matter may become trapped in the appendix, resulting in appendicitis (infection and inflammation).
The three parts of the colon absorb water and minerals from the undigested food and compact the remaining material into feces.

Gut flora or intestinal flora consists of microorganisms that live in the intestine, mostly in the colon. The intestinal bacteria of the gut flora prevent the growth of harmful bacteria and synthesize some vitamins and other functions. The composition of the gut flora differs from person to person and depends on age, diet, environment and use of antibiotics.

Defecation is the digestive process final stage: feces (undigested waste products) are carried to the rectum through peristalsis and eliminated through the anus. It has internal and external sphincters.

A first review

A second review

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario